The French Baker's War (Hardcover)

The French Baker's War Cover Image
$22.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Absence isn't a hole. It's a presence living inside you, eating its way out.


Occupied France, 1943. Returning home from the daily hunt for the rationed ingredients necessary to keep his family p tisserie open, Andr Albert finds his four-year-old son in the street, his wife gone, and an emaciated Jewish woman cowering behind the display case.


Without Mireille, the foundation of Andr 's world crumbles. He desperately searches for her, but finds more trouble than answers. Lives are further jeopardized when he agrees to hide milie, the escapee, and a Nazi officer shows up to investigate Mireille's disappearance.


Andr will do anything to bring his wife home, catapulting him, their son, and milie on a perilous journey impeded by temptation, past trauma, and stunning revelations.


The French Baker's War is as relevant today for its themes of duty to strangers and sacrifice for family.


Recommended for readers who enjoyed The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Book Thief, and The Nightingale.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781777569945
ISBN-10: 177756994X
Publisher: Mortal Coil Books
Publication Date: May 26th, 2021
Pages: 266
Language: English